The 12 Olympian Gods

The 12 Olympian Gods

The 12 gods of Mount Olympus were the most important deities in ancient Greece and in this collection we examine each one in detail. With their all-too-human qualities in Greek mythology, the Olympian gods were capable of displaying great kindness and dishing out terrible punishments. They argued amongst themselves, had love affairs, and protected their favourite mortal heroes down on earth but each had a more serious role to play in the Greek view of the world and so they represented important ideals and features of the human condition such as justice, loyalty, wisdom, beautiful music and the changing of the seasons.

The Twelve Olympian Gods

The standard 12 Olympian gods are:

  • Zeus
  • Hera
  • Athena
  • Apollo
  • Poseidon
  • Ares
  • Artemis
  • Demeter
  • Aphrodite
  • Dionysos
  • Hermes
  • Hephaistos

The Greeks did not always agree on the 12 and some lists include Hestia, Hercules or Leto, with Dionysos often the one replaced.

The Olympian gods led by Zeus twice defeated the sources of chaos represented by the Titans and the Giants. These gods then, rule humanity's destiny and sometimes directly interfere - favourably or otherwise. Indeed, the view that events are not human's to decide is further evidenced by the specific gods of Fate and Destiny.

Watch the video: Οι Άθλοι του Ηρακλή